Supplemental Info Senate Bills with Recommendations by the Governor ... prev | next | current | calendar

S.B. 854. An Act to amend and reenact 19.2-349 and 19.2-354 of the Code of Virginia and to amend the Code of Virginia by adding a section numbered 19.2-354.1, relating to collection of unpaid court fines, etc.

03/07/17 Senate: Bill text as passed Senate and House (SB854ER)
02/24/17 Senate: Conference substitute printed 17105877D-S1
02/20/17 House: Committee substitute printed 17105513D-H1
12/02/16 Senate: Prefiled and ordered printed; offered 01/11/17 17100685D

Patron--Stanley

Passed Senate January 31, 2017 (40-Y 0-N)

Passed the House of Delegates with substitute February 22, 2017 (100-Y 0-N)

Conference report adopted by House February 24, 2017 (95-Y 0-N)

GOVERNOR'S RECOMMENDATION

 

    1. Line 69, enrolled, after within
      strike
        30 90
      insert
        30
    2. Line 137, enrolled, after within
      strike
        90
      insert
        30
    3. Line 155, enrolled, after obligations
      insert
        and shall not be based solely on the amount of fines and costs
    4. Line 159, enrolled, after Any
      strike
        required
    5. Line 162, enrolled, after less,
      strike
        20
      insert
        10
    6. Line 162, enrolled, after $500,
      strike
        10
      insert
        five
    7. Line 163, enrolled, after amount or
      strike
        $100
      insert
        $50
    8. Line 163, enrolled, after greater.
      strike
        the remainder of line 163 and through shown. on line 164
    9. Line 172, enrolled, after agreement
      strike
        by motion
      insert
        in writing on a form provided by the Executive Secretary of the Supreme Court
    10. Line 172, enrolled, after such modification
      strike
        the remainder of line 172
    11. Line 177, enrolled, after agreement,
      strike
        the remainder of line 177 and through E, on line 178
    12. Line 179, enrolled, after exceed
      strike
        the remainder of line 179 and through owed on line 180
      insert
        (i) if the fines and costs owed are $500 or less, 10 percent of such amount or (ii) if the fines and costs owed are more than $500, five percent of such amount or $50, whichever is greater

Legislative Information System | Bills & Resolutions